The Location:

New Zealand is an island nation located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean; east of Australia across the Tasman Sea, and south of the Pacific island areas of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. The capital is Wellington; the official language is English, and the currency is the New Zealand Dollar (NZD). It is a member of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD); the United Nations (UN); the Commonwealth of Nations, and participates in the Five Power Defence Arrangements, among others.


Key Benefits & Features of Company Formation

  • Not influenced by the EU Tax Savings Directive.
  • Large network of tax treats with over 37 countries and counting.
  • Zero taxes for offshore companies, providing they are not making profits within New Zealand.
  • No capital requirements.
  • Offers significant cost savings.


Additional Information:

  • Companies are usually either Limited Liability Companies or Companies Limited by Guarantee. An Unlimited Liability Company may also be possible.
  • Requirement for Shareholders is a minimum of one, with corporate Shareholders allowed.
  • Requirement for Directors is a minimum of one, of any nationality.
  • Corporate Directors are not permitted.
  • Requirement for filing annual accounts if more than 25% of the shares, or a majority of Directors reside outside New Zealand.
  • A company must have a registered office in New Zealand.
  • If there is only one Director, this person cannot also be Secretary.
  • Shareholders can be of any nationality.
  • An annual meeting of Shareholders is required once every calendar year, but can be held anywhere.